Avocado-Crab Salad Recipe

Image

Avocado-Crab Salad
I love to feed people, so it’s very important that I get good feedback. Well, last night I had a unanimous success with a new recipe. My family is very receptive to my recipes, but my brother-in-law and my step dad are hardcore Dominican men who are always reluctant to try anything new.
Enter Avocado-Crab Salad! I made this last night and my brother-in-law had repeat servings (my step dad had one, but he was already eating food when I brought the food down)! So, here is the recipe. I got it from Cook This Not That:

Ingredients:

Recipe Ingredients
1 can (8oz) crabmeat, preferably jumbo lump, drained
½ cup diced seeded and peeled cucumber
¼ cup minced red onion
1 jalapeño pepper (preferably red) minced
¼ cup chopped cilantro
1 Tbsp fish sauce (in a pinch, soy sauce will do)
1 Tbsp sugar
Juice of 1 lime
Salt
4 small Hass avocados, halved and pitted
1 lime, quartered

 

What I Used
2 packages (8 oz.) Crab Delights Imitation Crabmeat
1 cup diced seeded and peeled cucumber
½ of a large red onion (I love onions)
2 green jalapeño peppers, seeded and minced
¾ cup chopped cilantro (I also love cilantro)
2 Tbsp Lite soy sauce (Soy sauce will definitely do!)
2 Tbsp sugar
2 Tbsp lime juice
¼ Tsp sea salt in the recipe, then lightly salted the edges of the avocado
4 small Hass avocados, halved and pitted
I skipped this because I used more lime juice initially

 

Instructions:
• Combine everything except the avocados in a large mixing bowl.
• Mix.
• Lightly salt edges of avocados.
• Spoon mixture into avocados

And you’re done! Simple, delicious, and a huge success with everyone! Bon appétit!
Stay tuned for your next slice of genius!

 

 

Citation for Recipe:

Zinczenko, David. Cook This, Not That! 350-Calorie Meals: Hundreds of New Quick and Healthy Meals to Save You 10, 20, 30 Pounds – Or More. New York: Rodale, Incorporated, 2010. Print.

Leave a Reply

