Grocery Shopping- Getting it All Over With

I don’t know about you, dear reader, but I like to go all in and get things done all at once. I like to go grocery shopping once a month, just get everything I need and not step in a supermarket again for thirty or thirty-one days—unless it’s February, then it’s twenty-eight (unless it’s Leap year, then it’s twenty-nine). The problem with my system is that my vegetables and fruits tend to go bad after a while because we can’t eat them fast enough.  So, stuck between not buying fruits and veggies and going grocery shopping more than once a month, I took to the internet and stumbled upon this website: http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-blanch-vegetables-home-108570 which teaches us how to blanch vegetables so that we could freeze them. Silly me, I would have just thrown them in the freezer, washed and whole, but this works.

If you’ve read my last post, I’m going pescatarian for Lent, so my freezer won’t be stuffed with meat, which I buy, season, and separate into portions on grocery shopping day. So, I blanched my veggies, and chopped up my fruit and here it is:

My Blanched Veggies and My Chopped Fruit, all Ready to Be Frozen

My Blanched Veggies and My Chopped Fruit, all Ready to Be Frozen

Veggies, Fruit, Fresh Seafood, and Frozen Seafood. Prepped for the Month

Veggies, Fruit, Fresh Seafood, and Frozen Seafood. Prepped for the Month

It’s so much easier for me to just have everything prepped and ready for me to cook when I need them, what with my kids, school, and writing. I pick the day I go grocery shopping, usually a Tuesday since I don’t have class and there are better deals on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. I know that most of my afternoon or evening will be spent chopping, dicing, mincing, seasoning, etc. but it saves me so much time later because I just have to defrost and cook as desired.

Since I’m going pescatarian, I will have to make another trip to the supermarket for fresh fish sometime this month. I bought fresh wild whiting, wild carp, wild porgy, and wild squid (my son loves calamari); and I bought a large pack of frozen tilapia and flounder—they are ten bucks and they come with like eighteen fillets a bag—and two bags of scallops for this recipe I’m dying to try (I’ll post it when I do). Oh, and I got a 2 lb. bag of frozen mussels for $4.99.  I should be good for a few weeks.

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, I can focus on everything else I have to do all day: read, parent, read, parent, job hunt, read, parent, write, cook, clean, wash bottles and more bottles, and …

Stay tuned for your next slice of genius.

Leave a Reply

